Monday, April 11, 2016

Changing Faces on SDJ Board

Congratulations and welcome to newly elected (and re-elected) School Board members

It is vitally important for our community and our schools to have individuals answer the call of public service, and one of the most direct ways to serve is by being an elected member of our school board. With that in mind, I extend my congratulations to recently re-elected school board member Cathy Myers, and welcome newly elected board members Michelle Haworth and Jim Millard to the Janesville School Board.

With backgrounds in education and participation in parent-teacher-school organizations, I am confident these board members will be able to serve our schools and community well. Together, we can remain focused on our district’s mission of educational excellence and ensuring our students are well prepared for college and career.

We look forward to welcoming the new board members at the April 26 board meeting!

Thank you to our current board members who have served, and will be leaving soon

As we welcome some new faces to our board, we must also take time to send our best wishes to some departing board members. Board Vice-President Kristin Hesselbacher, who has served since 2010, decided not to run for re-election. Board Treasurer Karl Dommershausen, also elected in 2010, did not win re-election to his seat. Both Kristin and Karl are dedicated to the students, schools, and community of Janesville, and we appreciate all of their work over the years.

While their terms on the board may be ending, I am confident they will continue to find ways to serve the greater Janesville community. We will be thanking both Kristin and Karl for their service at the April 12 board meeting.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.