Friday, May 15, 2015

School District of Janesville and Parker High School Win Tommy Awards

The Parker High School Productions of Ghost and South Pacific, along with the School District of Janesville’s Summer School Production of All Shook Up, have received Tommy Awards.  The Tommy Awards encourage, recognize, and honor excellence in high school musical theater. Schools and individuals receive awards at a ceremony held at Overture Center.

Parker High School earned the following Tommy Awards for South Pacific:

Outstanding Musical – This category recognizes all areas of the production as outstanding, so the following will receive certificates in addition to the trophy: Jim Tropp, director; Jan Knutson, musical director; Michael Stanek, choreographer; Andrew Brackett, technical director; Alison August, stage manager; Larry Schultz, scenic designer; Sharon White, costume designer; Andrew Brackett, lighting designer; and Mike Schuler, sound designer.
Outstanding Lead Performer - Sydney McDonald (Bloody Mary);
Outstanding Lead Performer - Jacob Schmidt (Emil De Becque).

Parker also received three awards for Ghost:

Outstanding Choreograpeher - Michael Stanek
Outstanding Lead Performer - Nathan Traynor (Sam)
Outstanding Lighting Designer - Rob Mentele

The School District of Janesville’s Summer School Program earned the following Tommy Award for its production of ALL SHOOK UP:

 Outstanding Scenic Design - Tucker Topel

The Tommy Awards will be held on Sunday, June 7, at 6 pm in the Overture Hall,  Overture Center for the Arts, 201 State Street, Madison.  Members of Parker's South Pacific cast will perform a medley from the show.  Jacob Schmidt, Sydney McDonald, and Nathan Traynor from Ghost will each perform as winners of Outstanding Performer awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.