Monday, March 3, 2014

Candidate Forum

There will be at least one new board member following the Tuesday, April 1 election. I am encouraging everyone to either attend or tune in to tomorrow’s (Mar. 4, 2014) candidate forum, which will feature the five candidates on the April 1 ballot vying for the three spots on the board.

Here is an alphabetical list of the candidates with an “I” following the names of the incumbents:

Diane Eyers
Fred Jackson
Kevin Murray I
Bill Sodemann I
Dale Thompson

Here is an abbreviated description of the candidates from a Jan. 8, 2014 story in The Janesville Gazette:

 Diane Eyers, of 3320 LaMancha Drive, is an accountant who handles commercial insurance for Schwartz and Shea Insurance in Janesville.
Fred Jackson, of 217 S. Pontiac Drive, an analyst for Eaton Corp. in Watertown, said the district should slow down and catch its breath.
Kevin Murray, of 35 S. Randall Ave., is a retired Janesville Fire Department lieutenant who has become a frequent questioner and critic of initiatives by Superintendent Karen Schulte
Bill Sodemann, of 4625 W. Highway 11, is the owner of Phones Plus and former board president. He is noted for conservative views and knowledge of school budget intricacies.
Mr. Sodemann was ready to step down in December when he had a change of heart. He now wants to stay for another term to see that the district's Journey to Excellence continues.
Dale Thompson, of 4322 Southwyck Drive, retired as director of the county's developmental disabilities board in 2000 and is a longtime advocate for people with disabilities.
Mr. Thompson said he took a break after retirement, but now he wants to get back on the school board. 
The candidate forum, hosted by the Janesville Area Council PTA and the League of Women Voters, is a free event beginning at 6:30 p.m., tomorrow (Mar. 4) in the Boardroom of the Educational Services Center, 527 S. Franklin St. in Janesville. The public is invited to attend. The forum will be broadcast live on cable Channel 993 and rebroadcast on that channel before the April 1 election. The forum may also be viewed through a League of Women Voters link at after March 6.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.