Friday, February 21, 2014

Rock the School House Awards Grants

They are best known by their day jobs – educating students in the School District of Janesville. In addition to the rigors these educators encounter daily, a group of nine musicians added to their busy schedules by performing for a school district fundraiser.
The School District of Janesville presented “Rock the School House” on Saturday, January 18, 2014 at the Janesville Performing Arts Center.  “Rock the School House” is a fundraising event for several district organizations.

The following activities received funds as a result of the “Rock the School House” fundraiser:

Parker and Craig High School for Washington Seminar (Joe Van Rooy and Scott Gudgel)  $1500

Craig High School for the Global Economic Summit (Fritz Elsen) $1500

Parker High School for Robotics (Bob Getka and Tom Heiss)  $1500

Janesville Academy for International Studies for Nuclear Nonproliferation Conference and Model United Nations (Jane Thompson) $1500

Harrison Elementary School for the Bridges Conference (Chris Kohn and Lee Gruber) $1500

Madison, Roosevelt and Washington Elementary Schools for Biztown, Junior Achievement. (Amanda Werner, Lynn Little, Beth Ulring, Mark Housley and Erica Brunker) $500 each

This year, the committee selected grant recipients from known programs that distinguished themselves over a period of years or new programs that desired to get established.  Students in many of these programs were an integral part in making “Rock the School House” happen.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.