Thursday, May 17, 2012

More Tommy Awards for The School District of Janesville

Just another reason the School District of Janesville is making dreams come true!  Some of the following information was sent as an email explaining the incredible performances by our staff and students!

Overture’s Tommy Awards program is an education initiative that honors and celebrates excellence in musical theater production among area high school students. Musicals of participating schools are reviewed by a panel of educators, theater experts and industry professionals.  Based on reviewers’ comments and tabulations, productions and individuals receive awards in specific categories at a ceremony held each year at Overture Center in June.  The ceremony also features performances and production numbers from award winners in several categories.


"We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2012 Tommy Awards!  This year we reviewed 44 productions staged by 42 high schools and 2 community programs. Close to 4,000 individuals worked on these musicals with 2,000 of them being student performers.  That’s quite an accomplishment I must say.    We saw various styles of staging of Broadway musicals from the classics to contemporary cutting-edge.  On behalf of the reviewer team, we applaud you for your hard-work and assurance that arts education programming remains vital in Wisconsin schools."

The Parker production received the following 2012 Tommy Awards:

Outstanding Musical - The Phantom of the Opera
Outstanding Lead Performer – Stephanie Ahrens  (Christine Daae)
Outstanding Lead Performer – Zach Eicher  (The Phantom)
Outstanding Lead Performer – Colin Murdy  (Raoul)
Outstanding Supporting Performer - Jocelyn Bold  (Carlotta Giudicelli)
Outstanding Stage Management – Becky Harmata & Caleb Stinemates
Honorable Mention Supporting – Hannah Hathaway  (Madame Giry)
The Craig production received the following 2012 Tommy Awards:
Outstanding Musical – Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
(This marks the third year in a row that Craig's musical has been awarded this honor.  Craig is one of only three schools to win Outstanding Musical each of the three years that the Tommy Awards have been recognizing high school musicals.)
Outstanding Lead Performer – Alex Lentz  (Joseph)
Outstanding Lead Performer – Chandler Cook  (The Narrator)
Outstanding Supporting Performer – Connor McMahon  (Musical Hairspray)

All student award winners are invited to take part in the Tommy Awards Celebration at the Overture Center in Madison on Sunday June 3.  Congratulations!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.