Thursday, April 19, 2012

Award Winning Coach Hangs Up His Whistle

Janesville Parker High School football coach Joe Dye informed his team this afternoon that he will resign his post.

Joe moved to Janesville in the Summer of 1980 and worked as an assistant coach at Janesville Parker from 1980 through 1992.In 1993, Joe accepted the head football coaching position at Janesville Parker and led the Vikings to their first Big 8 conference championship in school history in 2000. The Vikings have won 5 Big 8 championships under the leadership of Joe and his staff. Janesville Parker has qualified for the state football playoffs 15 of his 19 seasons. He was selected as the Big 8 Coach of the Year in 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2006. Joe was inducted into the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2007

Joe has also served as the head boys track coach at Janesville Parker from 1981 till present.Throughout his time at Parker High School, Joe has served as the mathematics chair and was selected as the Janesville Secondary Teacher of the Year in 1995. He was also recog­nized by the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1995 as a Distinguished Teacher of Teachers and in 2003 as a Rockwell Award Winner.

He will continue to work as a teacher, athletic director and boys track coach at Janesville Parker High School.

Joe Dye has been a dedicated, high performing football coach for many years in the School District of Janesville. It is now time for him to focus more on himself and the family he is devoted to. Joe has been a role model for many students at Janesville Parker. He is a strong leader in our district and a beloved employee. I wish Joe the best and stand by him in his decision. I am happy that he will continue with us as a teacher, athletic director and track and field coach. Thank you for your service to the Janesville community and the School District of Janesville.

1 comment:

  1. Joe Dye was and is one of the best. As a sub he would always say hi to me. He has respect for people and that is why he makes the news.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.